Today I Shall Wear a 90’s Sweater: 11/28/2012

It was probably pretty bold to chop off all my hair and don one of my dad’s old 90’s sweaters in one week. But I have to say, it felt pretty awesome. I can’t remember there ever being a time that I specifically disliked change, I never feared it per se, but 9 inches of hair can almost seem like the end of the world to some people. Thankfully, that is most definitely not me. Actually, I found the experience to be thrilling. Sitting in the chair and half knowing that my simplest accessory could be ruined in one snip, gave me an adrenaline rush that I think, in retrospect, I desperately needed. Maybe in some weird, philosophical, existential, (insert other word relating to the metaphysical life of my hair) way, my long hair was weighing me down. I got out of that chair feeling like a new person, or maybe exactly like the person I had been all along. Maybe, we avoid change because we’re so afraid of our own amazing potential. Trust me, I am in no way trying to imply that my new haircut and sweater-wearing habits have left me with a renewed desire to change the world; but the scary-kind-of-different that I was feeling when the scissors made their first clip, made me want to live, like really, really live. Because change is AWESOME.

Oh and by the way, happy birthday to the greatest Dad who has ever lived!

Leave a Reply

