Personal Prayer

Bind it for a sign on your arm

And between your eyes.

שמע ישראל ד׳ אלקינו ד׳ אחד

There is unity and peace in these parts,

אהבה רבה

And immense love.

Take for yourself the trust you require–

And guide me to that trust,

Trust of self,

Trust of others,

Trust of You.

Empower me through your Torah.

Grant me calm and meditation.

Help me see the divinity in it all–

It is there.

Hold me as if wrapped in Tallis and Tefillin

Close and bound by mitzvot and love

That it should all be for a sign–

A reminder that I am finite and infinite all at once

That I am small and mighty all at once.

פותח את ידך ומשביע לכל חי רצון

My hands are open,

Are seeking.

תהילת ד׳ ידבר פי

Let me hold your praises in my mouth,

Let me sing for you.

אלוקי נצור לשוני מרע

Guard my tongue from ill-speech.

Bind it for a sign on your arm and between your eyes.

Leave a Reply

